|Friend of Court Office|
|Phone Number: (906)-667-0218
Fax Number: (906)-667-1145
Hours of service: CST
Staff names and titles:
Friend of the Court
The Friend of the Court Office was created in 1919 by Michigan law. There is an office serving each circuit court in the state. The Gogebic County Friend of the Court Office operates under the supervision and direction of Chief Judge Michael K. Pope.
The Friend of the Court has the following duties:
Conduct investigations and make a recommendation to the court regarding custody, parenting time, and child support. Offer mediation as an optional way of settling disagreements over custody or parenting time with children. Provide enforcement services on custody, parenting time, and support orders entered by the court.
You can link to the Michigan Legal Help site to find forms for filing motions regarding custody, child support, parenting time, and divorce. You can also find answers to commonly asked questions regarding child custody issues and other related matters on the Legal Help website also.
Michigan Legal Help
NOTE: Friend of the Court employees cannot give legal advice and will advise you to hire an attorney if you are able to afford one.
The below link will allow you to establish online access to your child support case where you will be able to see your case information, payment summary, income withholding status, and more. Sign up today!
Online Child Support Case Access
ACCESS OUR PARENTING TIME POLICY
Make a payment (for employers and individuals) :
CHANGE BANKING INFORMATION
Frequently Asked Questions:
Will I get a court appointed attorney for my divorce?
No you will not. You must hire your own attorney unless you qualify for legal services through Legal Services of Northern Michigan (1-800-872-8432).
How do I update my address and/or contact information?
You can fill out the below form and either email it, mail it, or drop it off at our office.
Change in Information Form
When will I receive my child support payment?
Monthly support is added to your account at the first of every month. The full monthly amount must be paid before the last day of the month, unless your order states differently.
Will I receive the payer's tax refund?
A request for tax refund offset is automatically submitted by our office to the state and federal government when payer's arrears are $150 (state) or $500 (federal). Because of IRS regulations, we can only give tax payment information to the person whose taxes were taken. We can give limited information regarding tax payments received to the payee.
Do I have to allow the other parent to see my child(ren) if he or she is not paying child support?
Yes. Parenting time and child support are separate enforcement issues addressed in court orders separately as well. Parenting time cannot be denied because you are not receiving child support payments.
Can a child refuse to visit the other parent or decide where he or she wants to live?
No. A child cannot make that decision until he or she is 18 years old. It is up to the parent to ensure that the child is available for court ordered parenting time.
What if I feel my child is unsafe with the other parent? What will happen if I don't send my child with the other parent?
If you feel that your child is being abused or neglected, contact Children's Protective Services right away at 1-855-444-3911. You have an obligation to keep your child safe. However, the Friend of the Court has a duty to enforce court ordered parenting time, and we cannot tell a parent to violate a court order. The other parent may file a parenting time complaint, and the parent who chooses to deny parenting time will need to respond to the complaint ultimately leading to a possible court hearing.
Does a holiday take priority over regularly scheduled parenting time?
Yes, unless your court order states something differently.
The other party will not return my child. Who can help me?
We cannot help you with the immediate return of your child and neither can the police. If a parenting time order was violated, you can submit a parenting time complaint. If you want faster action, you may need to contact an attorney.
How do I change my child support amount?
You are eligible for a review every three years, or if there has been a significant change in your financial circumstances, such as a job loss or large change in pay. You can submit a written request to the FOC for an income review.